Felix Rosenqvist, who started in third eventually overtook early leader Lucas di Grassi to take the win.

The Indian racing team scored an emotional first win at the revised Tempelhofring circuit. Qualifying was the closest ever in the history of the FIA Formula E Championship, and led to Mahindra driver Felix Rosenqvist starting from third in the grid. He later moved up to second when Jose Maria Lopez made a slow start, before gradually overtaking early leader Lucas di Grassi. Earlier in the day, di Grassi took pole by out-pacing Lopez by just 0.001s, while Rosenqvist was only 0.083s off pole.

“It feels incredible,” he said. “From the start of the day the car felt good, quick and consistent. I made a small error in Super Pole qualifying, otherwise we could have been on pole. We came here much more prepared [than when I was on pole in Marrakesh] and it’s a great compliment to the team. We have some fantastic people - I was waiting for this and finally it came.”

Championship-leader Sebastien Buemi was disqualified post the race - his tyres being under pressure was the reason why. The deficit for di Grassi has now reduced to just 22 points. The second Mahindra driver, Nick Heidfeld, stood on the bottom step of the podium for the third race in a row. He managed to close his gap to di Grassi to just over a second, but at no point was he able to overtake him.

Heidfeld said, “This is a really outstanding result for the team considering where we have come from. In the first car, I was struggling but in the second car I started to catch Lucas a little bit. For a while I thought it might be possible [to catch him] but in the end it wasn’t.”

2017 Berlin ePrix (Rd 7) - Race results

Pos Name Team Time
1. Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 53:19.661s
2. Lucas di Grassi ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport +2.232s
3. Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing +4.058s
4. Jose Maria Lopez DS Virgin Racing +13.638s
5. Nico Prost Renault e.dams +19.068s
6. Daniel Abt ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport +19.799s
7. Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing +20.065s
8. Jean-Eric Vergne TECHEETAH +20.689s
9. Maro Engel Venturi Formula E +39.030s
9. Maro Engel Venturi Formula E +39.030s
10. Oliver Turvey NextEV NIO +40.985s
11. Stephane Sarrazin TECHEETAH +42.682s
12. Nelson Piquet Jr NextEV NIO +42.980s
13. Jerome D'Ambrosio Faraday Future Dragon Racing +45.712s
14. Adam Carroll Panasonic Jaguar Racing +49.658s
15. Loic Duval Faraday Future Dragon Racing +59.010s
16. Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Formula E +1:00.269s
17. Robin Frijns Andretti Formula E +1:02.463s
18. Tom Dillmann Venturi Formula E +1:07.695s
19. Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing DNF (1)
20. Sebastien Buemi Renault e.dams DSQ

News You May Like

1,500th Safari Storme for the Indian Army rolls out
  • Published On : 27 August 2018
  • 1 min read

Tata Motors is contracted to supply 3,192 units of the GS800 Safari Storme 4x4 army-spec SUV to the Indian Armed Forces.

Read More

Jeep Compass Gets Over 10,000 Bookings
  • Published On : 5 September 2017
  • 1 min read

The company has ramped up production at its Ranjangaon plant to meet demand.

Read More